Tokens for Good logo Tokens for Good

HomeAffiliations › IKEA Social Entrepreneurship

IKEA Social Entrepreneurship: what it is and what it signals

IKEA Social Entrepreneurship backs social enterprises through accelerator programmes run with local partners, through supplier partnerships that put their products in IKEA stores, and through direct financial support. Its public list mixes all three, so the first question about any claim is which relationship it describes.

Type
Accelerators and programmes
Run by
IKEA Social Entrepreneurship
Since
2018
Headquarters
Netherlands
Official site
https://www.ikeasocialentrepreneurship.org/en
Public list
https://www.ikeasocialentrepreneurship.org/en/social-enterprises

What IKEA Social Entrepreneurship is

The initiative states its purpose plainly: "By backing and working with social entrepreneurs, we create new opportunities and contribute to better everyday lives around the world." It defines the enterprises it works with as those using "business as a way to address social and environmental issues, such as reducing poverty and waste or empowering women and youth".

Three different relationships sit behind a single listing. Accelerator programmes are "an established time-limited plan of actions where the key objective is to scale up social entrepreneurs' businesses". Product partnerships are commercial supply: "Collaborating with social entrepreneurs to produce unique items and develop services for IKEA", sold under collection names such as BOTANISK, HANTVERK and LOKALT. There is also direct financial support, described as "a choice between grants...loans and equity investments".

Who runs it and since when

The initiative is part of IKEA; its site carries the copyright of Inter IKEA Systems B.V. and links to Inter IKEA and the IKEA Foundation as sibling sites. Its account of the origins goes back further than the programme: "Back in 2012, we looked at how to achieve this by including products and services from social entrepreneurs in our offer." The support figures it publishes are counted from 2018, the useful start date for reading a claim.

Accelerators are not delivered in-house. The site states that "All our accelerator programmes are co-created with our partnering civil society organisations and include IKEA co-worker engagement", naming Acumen, Biji-biji Initiative, Ashoka, Instellar, NESsT, New Ventures, Reach for Change, Social Enterprise Insights and WWF. Several of those partners run their own programmes and lists, so one enterprise can appear on both.

How an organization gets it

There is no single open application. Entry runs through whichever programme is live in a country, and each is a cohort of fixed size and length announced with a local partner; the Indonesian partnership with Instellar, for example, is described as four years covering thirty social enterprises. Recruitment is handled by the partner organisation.

The supplier route is different again. Product and local-services partnerships are negotiated commercially, with co-worker involvement that "ranges from operational support for social entrepreneurs who make products for IKEA, to strategic development". Financial support is set case by case. No participation fee is published for any route, and no renewal or expiry cycle either, because none of them is a certification.

What it signals, and what it does not

A listing records selection into a programme at a point in time, or a commercial relationship, or both. It signals that a partner organisation with local knowledge screened the enterprise and that IKEA was willing to be publicly associated with it. It is not an audit of accounts, labour practice or environmental claims, and it is not a rating.

The three routes carry different weight. A supplier partnership means IKEA buys from the enterprise, which implies real production capacity; an accelerator place means mentoring and business support, which implies neither revenue from IKEA nor investment. Financial support may or may not be attached, and its form (grant, loan or equity) is not stated on individual records. Listings are cumulative rather than pruned, so an enterprise that finished a cohort years ago, or has since stopped trading, can still appear.

How to verify a claim

Open the social enterprises list and filter. The filters are support type, programme, country, sector and target group, which is enough to separate an accelerator alumnus from a supplier. A record page gives the enterprise name, its location down to region and city, the programme and partner it came through (one Indonesian record reads "I-SEA Programme in partnership with Instellar Impact"), a description, and usually a website address; the website is the field to match against the company in front of you.

The list is loaded by script, so it needs a browser. There is no suspended or expired state, so absence is the only negative result: if there is no record, ask which programme, which year and which partner ran it, then check that partner's own list. Enterprises reached through a partner cohort sometimes appear on the partner site and not here.

Size and geography

IKEA Social Entrepreneurship publishes a total of Since 2018, we've supported over 230 social enterprises around the world.. Source.

Our copy of the public list holds 152 organizations across 7 countries, pulled 2026-09-14. Our data covers Latin America and Southeast Asia for this list, so these numbers describe that slice rather than the whole register.

Often held together

Organizations carrying IKEA Social Entrepreneurship in our data most often also hold:

In the Tokens for Good directory

None of the organizations researched so far carries this label. Submit one, or contribute research with spare Claude capacity.

Frequently asked questions

Does a listing mean IKEA invested in the enterprise?
Not necessarily. Support can be a grant, a loan, equity, a place in an accelerator cohort, or a supply relationship, and the form is not stated on records.
Are the accelerators run by IKEA?
No. Every accelerator programme is co-created with a partnering civil society organisation, such as Acumen, Ashoka, NESsT, Instellar, New Ventures, Biji-biji Initiative, Reach for Change, Social Enterprise Insights or WWF.
Is there an open application?
Not a single global one. Cohorts are announced with a local partner in a specific country, and that partner handles recruitment.
Does a listing expire?
No expiry is published. The list is cumulative, so it includes enterprises whose programme ended years ago.
Why might an enterprise appear on a partner list but not this one?
Partners such as NESsT and Acumen publish their own portfolios, which are wider than the cohorts co-funded with IKEA. Check both before treating a claim as unverified.

Sources

  1. IKEA Social Entrepreneurship, home page checked 2026-09-17
  2. IKEA Social Entrepreneurship, About us checked 2026-09-17
  3. IKEA Social Entrepreneurship, Accelerating for impact checked 2026-09-17
  4. IKEA Social Entrepreneurship, social enterprises list checked 2026-09-17
  5. IKEA Social Entrepreneurship, example record (Aliet Green) checked 2026-09-17

Research the organizations behind these labels

Tokens for Good turns spare Claude capacity into cited research on social-impact organizations, so a label is a starting point rather than the whole answer.

Get started